August

August 18, 2013 § 18 Comments

Cicada, Graphite on Paper, 5 x 8.25″ (12.7 x 30 cm), 2013

Cicada, Graphite on Paper, 5 x 8.25″ (12.7 x 30 cm), 2013

Earlier this month I enjoyed a packed trip home to Ithaca, New York where I attended three weddings in a single week, two of which were same-sex marriages– hurrah for New York!

I spent full days drawing on the banks of Cayuga Lake as well as in the gardens and pastures of friends. The east coast summer nights were great– garden salads for dinner, humidity, cicadas, and I even watched the Perseid meteor shower from a dock on the lake.

Back in Portland, Oregon, I am busy working in my studio on several pieces simultaneously, including the sixth still life painting of objects from the Thai-Burma border. The painting features a 1920’s passport photograph of a young George Orwell from his time serving with the British Imperial Police in Burma.

Thanks for reading!  <<<>>>

Drawing dead cicadas from life.

Drawing dead cicadas from life.

Steve's Garden, Sumi Ink on Paper, 11 x 14", 2013

Steve’s Garden, Sumi Ink on Paper, 11 x 14″ (28 x 35.5 cm), 2013

Burma map painting in progress on the easel in my studio.

Burma map painting in progress on the easel in my studio.

Work in progress - a stage and a painted backdrop.

Work in progress of a stage and a painted backdrop.  Earlier version.

Preliminary pencil drawing for a painting of George Orwell and a monkey skull.

Preliminary pencil drawing for a painting of a young George Orwell and a monkey skull.

Sunset on Cayuga Lake, Ithaca, New York, August 2013.

Sunset on Cayuga Lake.  Ithaca, New York, August 2013.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 18 Responses to August

  • Scritch says:

    i love the sumi ink drawing. its just perfect and wonderfully restrained. looks like a very very productive time

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      Thanks, Janine! It’s always so much fun to go home to New York. That drawing was made in my friend’s garden on a patch of pasture and farmland surrounded by woods way out in the middle of nowhere. It’s like a little piece of heaven out there. I was feeling pretty peaceful when I drew it, and let my inner Mattise have a go at it.

      We have a nice little routine whenever I come into town that I always go visit their family and spend the night. The stars out there are insane. Then I wake up and draw all day. It’s fun. :)

      • Scritch says:

        ah that sounds lovely. your life sounds like the artists dream

      • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

        Haha, maybe when I am not slaving away at my day job. :)

      • Scritch says:

        whats you day job (ditto except no gardens here)

      • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

        I’d tell you, but I would feel awful if you up and died of boredom as you read it. I’ve lived on my artwork alone before, but for now it’s nice to just have a steady income that I can count on, though it does eat up so much energy and time. How is your day job treating you? Will they allow you to post some of the work you’ve done for them on your website?

      • Scritch says:

        i dont know, i havent asked but i’m posting them as password protected links (the password is my name)

        and it cant be worked around more than this.
        :(

        i like the stability of a day job. i find i’m less creative when thinking of money and work and rent then if i just have a day job. i dont think i’ll ever be a full time freelancer. i don’t know. but last week i got to do digital illustrations for a campaign so fun creative does work its way into the day job too

      • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

        Nice! I’m glad to hear that you got to do some digital illustrations for a client. Freelancing is tough. I don’t feel less creative, but I do feel a lot of stress when everything rides on my work. In my particular field when I make work for people often they seem to take their sweet, sweet time in compensating me for it. Like, way longer than they would take to pay for anything else. You might appreciate this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R2a8TRSgzZY&fb_source=message It’s one of my favorite things ever made. “No– the highlights. But I can only pay for the trim.” Too true…

        I like the work you posted. So, part of what you do is to design app layout? It’s really cool. Looks good!

      • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

        Another nice post, Janine! So the website looks good and clean without the comment option, but where will I leave my inane comments? Will you also be posting on your blog?

      • Scritch says:

        yes! i think so – on my private tinroofpress blog (although when reblogging using that tab can you comment? I might just need to copy paste) – also i post on facebook. currently got a full blown addiction going on fb

      • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

        Hmmm, am I following your fb feed? If so, I haven’t seen it lately. Is it Tin Roof Press on fb? Janine Schroff? yeah, I don’t think you can comment or like if it is a re-blog.

      • Scritch says:

        tinroof is on facebook but i cant be bothered to keep it up so i quit. i think i’ll just use my one feed. i cant handle all this social media. driving me crazy and eating up so much time.

      • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

        I hear you, sister! A break from social media is always a good thing.

      • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

        Shroff– apologies for the (sic).

  • jackbaumgartner says:

    I love that contour drawing of the cicada, my friend. That caption for the photo is pretty interesting actually too.

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      Thanks, buddy. I know, I thought the same thing when I typed it. Funny, but true.

      The cicadas sounds were wild this year. If you follow the hyperlink in the body of the text (through the word cicada) you can watch David Attenborough strut his stuff and hypnotize a little cicada. He’s great.

  • All your projects most interesting. What stands out to my eye is your Sumi-e drawing of Steve’s Garden.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading August at Mike Schultz Studio Blog.

meta

