Thai Ceramic Baby Tiger – Still Life Painting!

July 29, 2013 § 9 Comments

Thai Ceramic Baby Tiger on my easel.

Thai Ceramic Baby Tiger on my easel.

Recently, I’ve been focusing on a series of still lives based on objects and oddities I brought back from the Thai-Burma border. I’m currently beginning work on the sixth painting, and wanted to pause and share some images of the first piece in the series.

It depicts a small ceramic statue of a baby tiger made by a Thai ceramicist that I found in the northern city of Chiang Mai, Thailand. It was painted over a couple of weeks in mostly soft evening light.

Thai Ceramic Baby Tiger, Oil on Paper, 5.5 x 7″ (14 x 17.75 cm), 2013

Thai Ceramic Baby Tiger, Oil on Paper, 5.5 x 7″ (14 x 17.75 cm), 2013

My priority with this work was practicing a traditional oil glazing technique to create soft shifts in light and tones. What made this particular work especially challenging was depicting a high fire ceramic glaze. (I love painting.)

(Detail), Oil on Paper, 5.5 x 7″ (14 x 17.75 cm), 2013

Thai Ceramic Baby Tiger (Detail), Oil on Paper, 5.5 x 7″ (14 x 17.75 cm), 2013

It is my intention to show these paintings and to use the sale of which to partially supplement my return to Thailand in early 2014 to resume my work with migrant youth from Burma at the Puzzlebox Art Studio.

Guy Delisle's Jerusalem (2012)

Guy Delisle’s Jerusalem (2012)

Currently on my nightstand is Guy Delisle’s Jerusalem which I am enjoying quite a bit. I recently finished George Orwell’s Burmese Days and I highly recommend it.

Thanks for reading!  <<<>>>

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 9 Responses to Thai Ceramic Baby Tiger – Still Life Painting!

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Thai Ceramic Baby Tiger – Still Life Painting! at Mike Schultz Studio Blog.

meta