Nature Drawing – Coastal Redwood

May 7, 2013 § 22 Comments

Great Tree up at Mt. Tabor, Graphite on Paper, 5 x 8.25″ (12.7 x 30 cm), 2013

Coastal Redwood Trunk, Mt. Tabor, Graphite on Paper, 5 x 8.25″ (12.7 x 30 cm), 2013

This week: nature drawing, Mt. Tabor, and garden love.

The more beautiful the weather gets the harder it is for me to stay indoors to paint. After another dark wet Portland winter I am happy to take a break and trade out painting for drawing in the sun and the fresh air.

Pictured above is a drawing of a Coastal Redwood (Sequoia sempervirens) that I drew in my Moleskine sketchbook up at Portland’s Mt. Tabor park this past Sunday. These are the tallest trees on earth and can reach up to 379 feet (115.5 m)!

Mt. Tabor is large hill looming in the distance out the window.

Out the window to the east you can see Mt. Tabor beckoning me to abandon my studio.

The view from Mt. Tabor back to my home and studio. Can you see it?  It's the little one.

Facing westward from Mt. Tabor towards my studio. (It’s the house with the garden.)

My garden plot is coming along nicely. So far I have planted Roma tomatoes, aroma basil, grey lavender, chives, snap peas and was gifted some tenacious potatoes which were already growing in the bed. I’ve been enjoying digging in the dirt with my hands and nurturing this small piece of earth. There is something very meditative and calming about working out there, and I’m looking forward to making drawings of these plants as they grow!

Also, I recently ran across this old photograph of myself as a young child in my pop’s garden. At this age I was known for (and actually remember quite clearly) raiding the garden of any and all snap peas.

Aroma Basil starts in the garden.

Aroma basil starts in the garden.

Myself as a three year old in the family garden, 1980.

Snap pea thief: my three year old self in the garden squinting in the sun, circa 1980.

Thanks for reading and feel free to comment!  <<<>>>

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 22 Responses to Nature Drawing – Coastal Redwood

  • oliverowl says:

    I don’t recall the photo, but I think it also reveals one of your “self-done” haircuts.” I do recall how much you loved the fresh peas!

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      Haha– yes! I thought the same thing- that I must have given myself that haircut with a bit of a widow’s peak. My hair sure was reddish colored back then, wasn’t it?

      • oliverowl says:

        Yes, you were definitely what is known as a “strawberry blonde!”
        Glad you are having nice weather! Loved the photo of the bright sunshine streaming into your studio. I looked out of my western window this morning to see four deer tearing chunks of the fresh green grass and was inspired to pen this haiku:

        morning, breaking fast
        deer, silent, tearing green grass
        feasting unafraid

      • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

        Awww, that’s a beautiful haiku! I loved it. Sounds like summer is nearby in Cody as well.

  • jackbaumgartner says:

    Nice drawing, Mikey. And congratulations starting your garden. I look forward to seeing more of that. It is good to see you as a young feller,- I was a spinach stealer myself.

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      Thanks, Jack. Yesterday I planted oregano, genovese basil, kale, sun gold cherry tomatoes, Siam queen Thai basil, and Thai hot chili peppers. I think of you and your gardens and farm when I am working out there. It’s been enjoyable so far. Next, I need to get more leafy vegetables in. Although last year (though it was not my garden yet) in that very bed the kale was infested with aphids. Do you know any methods to keeping them out?

      • jackbaumgartner says:

        lady bugs:) Diatomaceous earth works for a lot of insects as well- as long as it doesn’t get wet.

      • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

        Hmmm, I’ve heard about lady bugs as a solution. Can you simply purchase them to live in your garden? Also, any advice for slugs? There seem to be a lot of them around– are there even slugs in Kansas? They are rampant in Portland.

  • its so hard to work when its sunny. I’ve been loafing all week. the still life looks good under the sharp light

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      Janine, it is SO hard to work indoors when it’s sunny– I really can’t stand it these days. Your last post was really funny too. First, off it’s hilarious that she even wrote a letter about a missing brick. But I’m also picking up on some hostility in the way the building contractor circled “the missing brick” in red. Those are some circles of rage if I’ve ever seen them. : )

  • oliverowl says:

    Mike, your great-aunt Virginia set out shallow containers, (like jar lids,) of beer in her garden. The slugs loved it; drank it… to their demise!

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      That’s a good trick, and I will definitely try it. Someone else at work suggested cans of beer, but that sounded unsightly for my nice little garden. I like the idea of jar lids much better.

  • That window looks very interesting. A bit futuristic. I like its design.

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      Thanks! The window was installed in the 1980’s when this old Victorian house was remodeled. Its odd shape follows the roof line, and I have come to really love it. It’s huge too– more than 5 x 3.5 ft! There is another window on the next wall that is also quite strange– 2 x 10.5 ft tall running over the stairwell and into the room. Great studio light!

  • The drawing is sensational. It’s as though I could run my hands over the undulating bark that you’ve rendered on that paper. Excellent.

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      Thanks, Gabriel! This was a fun one to draw. Your work is looking excellent these days! Well done.

  • Wow it’s a wonderful drawing!

  • I like the drawing of the tree, this very well.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Nature Drawing – Coastal Redwood at Mike Schultz Studio Blog.

meta

