Sneak Peek! + Summery Spring

April 29, 2013 § 8 Comments

Currently I am focusing on a series of still lives featuring my collection of keepsakes from the Thai-Burma border. Pictured below is (a detail of) a painting of a ceramic hare and an antique statuette of a red swallow. I found the ceramic hare at an artist’s shop in the northern city of Chiang Mai, Thailand. (Just a peek until the series is further along!)

Ceramic Hare and Red Swallow (Detail), Oil on Paper, 5.5 x 7" (14 x 17.75 cm), 2013

Ceramic Hare and Red Swallow (Detail), Oil on Paper, 5.5 x 7″ (14 x 17.75 cm), 2013

Blue and red spectrum on my palette.

Blue and red spectrum on my palette.

This weekend I rode my bike up to Mt. Tabor to draw in my Moleskine sketchbook. Mt.Tabor is a park on an inactive volcano cinder cone within Portland city limits– basically it’s an enormous hill spanning 1.60 sq mi (4.14 km2) which is covered in majestic trees, winding pathways and vistas of the city.

My trusty steed among the great trees of Mt. Tabor, Portland, OR, April, 2013.

My trusty steed among the great trees of Mt. Tabor, Portland, OR, April, 2013.

    Vista of Portland from Mt. Tabor, Graphite on Paper, 5 x 8.25″ (12.7 x 30 cm), 2013

Vista of Portland from Mt. Tabor, Graphite on Paper, 5 x 8.25″ (12.7 x 30 cm), 2013

We are experiencing another week of freak summer weather in April– very unusual for Portland, OR. At great odds with my painting time I have been spending as many sunlight hours as possible out of doors walking, biking, seeing friends, and breathing in the Spring air. Pictured below is my adorable artist / seamstress friend Loni. She made everything she’s wearing in that photo! Check out her Etsy shop- LoveToLoveYou.

x

Loni among the luscious smelling lilacs.

Thanks for reading and feel free to comment!   <<<>>>

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 8 Responses to Sneak Peek! + Summery Spring

  • jackbaumgartner says:

    Mikey, I can really see the investment in color interpretation that you have been working on in the painting. Not only that but the surface of the hare is truly effective- in terms of that mysterious interaction of the light and color and the glossy transparency of the glaze on the ceramic. Good work.

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      Thanks, Jack. I really appreciate the comment. I’ve come to the conclusion that (at least for the present) when working from life everything is an approximation. Not only that but once you establish your palette it really doesn’t matter what the actual color is as long as it makes sense within the logic of the painting. Like how Morandi chooses a palette . . .

      I have still been trying my best to be true to what is in front of my eyes, but for my current painting I am shifting the emphasis back to a bit of invention. Less white and grey, more yellow and ocher. Also, thanks for the notes about the glaze. Ceramic high fire glaze has got to be one of the most difficult things to try to represent with oil paint. Honestly I could have kept going for another month reworking it but it became the most time consuming piece of the series so far and I felt that once it was at a certain point that it was time to move on. Anyway, I am glad you like it so far. I am still (very slowly) deciding on a new camera, but once I have it I’ll take photos of them for you.

      • jackbaumgartner says:

        I wonder, in terms of representing color, what the difference may be between accuracy and authenticity. While your colors may not be accurate per se, I as a viewer who hasn’t seen the still life object in its setting, I can yet judge your color choices as authentic and trust the view I have seen of them on their journey through your eyes, mind and heart and ultimately to your hands. I would honestly rather have authenticity than accuracy any day. And that is what you have brought me :)

      • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

        Thank you, Jack. I understand what you mean and agree with you. I made a choice about the hare because I could have pushed it more to simply look like what was in front of me, but I felt that the color was approximate and that if I did so it would have lost much of its life as it would have needed to be much duller– more grey green blue. Anyway, it’s interesting focusing on color– and a bit mysterious how subtle shifts can change an entire painting. Hope you are well.

  • we had a good round too. love that bunny. i agree about approximating the realism. I don;t really understand artist reproducing like its a photo, unless its just a question of practising technique,

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      Thanks, Janine! Yes, it’s all an approximation. I think if you reproduce something without any invention it can be pretty lifeless. Even photo realism when it’s technically very good can be dull. Thanks for the comment. Hope drawing is going well!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sneak Peek! + Summery Spring at Mike Schultz Studio Blog.

meta

