Thailand Sketchbooks!

April 22, 2013 § 11 Comments

Everywhere I go I carry a sketchbook. Mostly I use them for planning out more in-depth work. But when I travel I employ them for quickly recording and digesting what I see, hear, and feel in the world around me. Here are some sketchbook pages from when I lived on the Thai-Burma border in 2010-2011.

Thanks for reading, and feel free to comment!  <<<>>>

Baby in a Basket Riding a Dragon, Chiang Mai, Thailand, Graphite on Paper, 2010

Baby in a Basket Riding a Dragon, Chiang Mai, Thailand, Graphite on Paper, 2010

View of a Monastery and Tea Plantations, Doi Mae Salong, Thailand, Graphite on Paper, 2011

View of a Monastery and Tea Plantations, Doi Mae Salong, Thailand, Graphite, 2011

Surin’s Wooden Bench, Mae Sot, Thailand, Gouache on Paper, 2011

Surin’s Wooden Bench, Mae Sot, Thailand, Gouache on Paper, 2011

My Studio from Life (in the Yellow House), Sumi Ink on Paper, 2011

My Studio From Life (in the Yellow House), Sumi Ink on Paper, 2011

Golden Buddha, Chiang Mai, Thailand, Graphite on Paper, 2011

Golden Buddha, Chiang Mai, Thailand, Graphite on Paper, 2011

Early Morning Sketch of Farmer Neighbor Riding a Tire Pulled by a Cow, Graphite on Paper, 2011

Early Morning Sketch of Farmer Riding a Tire Pulled by a Cow, Graphite on Paper, 2011

The Mystery of the Thai Toilet (or How does this work?), Graphite on Paper, 2010

The Mystery of the Thai Toilet (or How does this work?), Graphite on Paper, 2010

Safety-Last Metal Pipe Transport (I saw this in heavy traffic), Ink and Watercolor, 2010

Safety-Last Metal Pipe Transport (I saw this in heavy traffic), Ink and Watercolor, 2010

Laundry Drying on a Bamboo Pole, Mae Sot, Thailand, Graphite on Paper, 2011

Laundry Drying on a Bamboo Pole, Mae Sot, Thailand, Graphite on Paper, 2011

Four Generations of Women on a Motorbike (infant to great-grandmother), Pencil, 2011

Four Generations of Women on a Motorbike (Infant to Great-Grandmother), Pencil, 2011

Early Morning Cock Fighting, Thai-Burma, Border, Graphite on Paper, 2011

Early Morning Cock Fighting, Thai-Burma Border, Graphite on Paper, 2011

Beth and I Walking Out of Our Flooded Neighborhood, Sumi Ink on Paper, 2011

Beth and I Walking Out of Our Flooded Neighborhood, Sumi Ink on Paper, 2011

Thanks for reading, and feel free to comment!  <<<>>>

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 11 Responses to Thailand Sketchbooks!

  • damn. i need to be sketching more. these are lovely and very lively

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      You and me both, Janine! I go in and out of being in practice. I appreciate the comment. <<>>

      • I’ve made some sketch books rules, although it takes me ages to finish a sketch book because of the rules. like no tearing pages, no scribbling, the page must be complete etc. the problem is then it becomes a mini drawing book instead of a ‘sketch book’. but i used to rip my sketch books to pieces if i felt they weren’t good enough so this is at least a step in the right direction.

      • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

        I understand more than I can say, Janine! It’s a slippery slope. In the past I had very similar rules with my sketchbooks, but they ended up hindering my work instead of feeding it. Now it’s my opinion that artists need a place to make mistakes and quite literally “play” without the fear or distraction that what they are working on is not good enough.

        On the contrary, it’s also nice to have books of finished drawings. :)

      • yeah i’ve found the only way i stick to a sketch book is if i make some basic groundrules. the play thing just never ended up working for me. i’d be angry and jealous of toher peoples sketch books and start tearing out bad pages.

  • jackbaumgartner says:

    That drawing of the dudes with the iron pipe is brilliant! The blue table is pretty fantastic as well. Actually it may surpass the iron pipe. Either way it is fun to see them. Thanks, Mikey.

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      Thanks for the comment, Jack. I saw those fellows carrying the pipe (I swear it was 20 ft or longer in length) in stop and go rush hour traffic. It blew my mind and was worried someone was going to impale themselves (specifically their face) on it. The bench was one of the stocky wooden creations made by my landlord Surin. I loved that little bench. Next time I go back I’m going to spend more time drawing items like this.

  • oliverowl says:

    “necessity is the mother of invention,” was what I thought, upon seeing the farmer using a tire! had to smile. always amazed at both your memory for detail and/or speed of drawing! If you go to Ohio, please bounce down for a stay in Cody…pleeeze!! Miss you so!!

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      I was really astonished the first morning I saw our farmer neighbor getting pulled on his tire– and even though it was very early (maybe 5am?) I had to quickly draw it. It wasn’t until months later when it seemed to make sense. The tire ripped up the grasses in the field where he rode it and made a muddy lap / track all the way around it. I am not sure exactly what it was for, but there was some purpose to it after all.

      I’d love to come see you! We’ll work on a plan for a visit later this summer.

  • Thanks for stopping at Artcalling, Mike. I’ve spent quite a lot of time looking at your artwork here. You are so prolific.
    I also enjoyed your biography, the chance you had to do something meaningful for others in Thailand. And the fact that you are living in Oregon, a place that I have always felt drawn to after a visit in the 70s.

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      Thanks for the comment, Sarah. I am really looking forward to going back to Thailand for more work with the same art studio and population later on this year. Glad to hear you are also a lover of Oregon! It’s a great place to be. :)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Thailand Sketchbooks! at Mike Schultz Studio Blog.

meta

