Painting Studio and Flower Blossoms!

April 15, 2013 § 8 Comments

Painting a loose underpainting on a still life featuring a ceramic hare and red swallow.

The loose underpainting of a still life featuring a ceramic hare and red swallow.

Over the past several weeks I’ve been focusing on a series of still lives depicting mementos, oddities, and knickknack from the Thai-Burma border. Later this year I’d like to show this body of work– hopefully the sale of which will help to finance my return to Thailand to continue working with migrant youth from Burma.

I would again be teaching art as an artist/mentor to young and talented Burmese folks at the Puzzlebox Art Studio in Mae Sot, Thailand. Potential energy is my favorite kind of energy– and they’ve got it!)

Painting still lives of mementos from the Thai-Burma border in my studio.

Painting still lives of mementos from the Thai-Burma border in my studio.

Pictured above is a shot of my studio near the completion of the third painting in the series. Recently I have been trying to be more deliberate about mixing my palette of colors before I begin painting for the day. It’s said that Pablo Picasso structured his painting days like this: In the mornings he mixed his palette. He’d then eat lunch, take a siesta, and do the actual painting all afternoon and into the evening.

Mixing a spectrum of color on my palette.

Mixing a spectrum of golds, greens, and grays on my palette.

While I usually demonstrate ample patience with my artwork I have realized that I can be impatient when it comes to finding the right color during the actual act of painting. So, lately before I paint I have been placing my palette between myself and the easel. This has proven to be a good way of structuring in slowness and deliberateness when mixing all of the colors that the painting requires.

Cherry blossoms at Portland's waterfront on the Willamette River.

Cherry blossoms at Portland’s waterfront on the Willamette River.

Spring continues to bloom here in Portland, OR!  This is one of my favorite times of year here as the streets smell like flowers everywhere you go . . .

Mary and friends enjoying a cherry blossom shower.  Yay, spring!

Friends enjoying a cherry blossom petal shower. Yay, spring!

Next week I’d like to share some of my sketchbooks from Thailand!

Feel free to comment and thanks for reading!  <<<>>>

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 8 Responses to Painting Studio and Flower Blossoms!

  • wow – that sounds like an amazing project. what do you teach? oil painting in particular?

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      It was! I joined the Puzzlebox at the very beginning and was able to help to build a fully functional arts and crafts studio from the ground up. The director of the NGO is a really smart fellow and has a knack for coming up with ideas that snowball into larger positive things.

      With mentoring I first taught a foundations drawing course and then moved on to general design and painting glazes on ceramic tile. It was really fulfilling to be able to create my own curriculum and see how different techniques would manifest themselves in my apprentice’s work.

      This next time I am there I am hoping to have different artists I know come to Thailand for a month at a time and teach a specific course. (hint hint . . .) I think you’d be great at it, Janine! Have you ever taught?

      Part of it is helping to deign products for the Puzzlebox to make and sell so that it can become fully self-sustaining. Another part is teaching by example and contributing to enriching young peoples lives. Anyway, food for thought.

      Tiles!: https://mikeschultzpaintings.wordpress.com/?s=ceramic+tile+blues

      PB on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/puzzleboxart

      • That does some amazeballs i would love to, but i’m not self-employed :( my visa is tied to my job. but i might be getting a new one (hopefully) – i’ll look this up.

      • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

        Haha- ‘amazeballs’ is hilarious always. I totally understand. It must be difficult having your visa tied to your job!

        Well, like I said, food for thought. If you and the ex came to Thailand for a volunteering vacation you could teach for some of it and travel for some of it. No pressure, it’s just an option. My plans are not yet set in stone, but I hope to be there again by January and plan on being there for at least another year. (Hopefully.) Options, options . . .

      • it does sound good, i will think about it. i was thinking about allen ginsberg the other day and laughing about your story. you have a very adventurous life.

      • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

        God, I was such a nerd and will forever feel embarrassed about the Ginsberg hissy fit I somehow induced. Also, don’t be fooled– I’m a homebody who occasionally gets into mischief.

  • jackbaumgartner says:

    Your pallet is looking pretty inviting, my friend. Those yellows are great. Makes me hungry.

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      Thank you, Jack. I’m at my easel right now trying again to trick myself into being patient about color mixing. Did you understand what I was talking about? I just love painting and I am eager to work so sometimes when a color is ‘close enough’ I just go for it where I could be more deliberate about it. I’ll email you some images of these paintings at some point soon, but man do I need a new camera.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Painting Studio and Flower Blossoms! at Mike Schultz Studio Blog.

meta

