S K E T C H B O O K S – Part 2

April 7, 2013 § 12 Comments

<<< Note: Web address change! >>>  Pinksphinx.wordpress.com is now located at https://mikeschultzpaintings.wordpress.com/ and mikeschultzpaintings.com.  If you’ve got my process blog bookmarked please update it.  : )

Connie Converse Album Artwork Sketch, Brooklyn, NY,  Sumi Ink on Paper, 2009

Connie Converse Album Artwork Sketch, Brooklyn, NY, Sumi Ink on Paper, 2009

More sketchbooks from the past!

What I find strange about keeping journals made up of drawings is that I can clearly remember everything about the moment that I was making each picture: Where I was, who I was with, my life circumstances and state of being at the time. It’s odd considering that without them my memories can be pretty vague . . .

Perhaps the best part about looking through my old sketchbooks was recognizing and acknowledging who I was in the past and how much I have grown as a human being. (Of course– I’m not talking about a drastic change from recent years. I’m talking about what I found in my sketchbooks from a decade ago.)

Next week I’d like to share my sketchbooks from when I lived in Thailand in 2010-2011.  I’m excited about it as I found a lot to share.

Thanks for reading!  <<<>>>  Feel free to comment!

Drawing of Cedar Mountain, Cody, Wyoming, Ink on Card, 2007

Drawing of Cedar Mountain, Cody, Wyoming, Ink on Postcard, 2007

Portrait of Jack, Kansas City, Sumi Ink on Paper, 1999

Portrait of Jack, Kansas City, Sumi Ink on Paper, 1999

Drawing at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, NYC, Graphite, 2012

Drawing Antiquities at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, NYC, Graphite, 2012

Lynn's Lion, Portland, OR, Pencil on Paper, 2013

Lynn’s Lion, Portland, OR, Pencil on Paper, 2013

Emily Writing a Letter in a Diner, Near Big Sur, CA, Sumi Ink, 1998

Emily Writing a Letter in a Diner, Near Big Sur, CA, Sumi Ink on Paper, 1998

Tea Plantations of Mae Salong, Doi Mae SalongThailand, Graphite on Paper, 2011

Tea Plantations and Hills of Mae Salong, Doi Mae Salong, Thailand, Graphite on Paper, 2011

Portrait of Julie, Russian River, CA, Sumi Ink on paper, 1999-2000

Portrait of Julie, Russian River, CA, Sumi Ink on paper, 1999-2000

Pocket Subway Moleskine, NYC, Ink on Paper, 2009

Pocket Subway Moleskine, NYC, Ink on Paper, 2009

Self Portrait Looking at a Memory of Myself in Brooklyn, Mae Sot, Thailand, Graphite on Paper, 2011

Self Portrait Looking at a Memory of Myself in Brooklyn, Mae Sot, Thailand, Pencil, 2011

Memory Drawing, Burmese Refugee Family Collecting Plastic, Mae Sot, Thailand, Graphite on Paper, 2011

Memory Drawing, Burmese Refugee Family Collecting Plastic, Mae Sot, Thailand, Graphite on Paper, 2011

People Drawing on the Subway, NYC, Graphite on Paper, 2012

People Drawing on the Subway, NYC, Graphite on Paper, 2012

People Drawing at Washington Square Park, New York City, Pencil on Paper, 2008

People Drawing at Washington Square Park, New York City, Pencil on Paper, 2008

The Elegant Dog (at the Immigrant Detention Center near our house), Graphite on Paper, Thai-Burma Border, 2011

The Elegant Dog (at the Immigrant Detention Center Near Our House), Graphite on Paper, Thai-Burma Border, 2011

Mike at MOMA, New York City, Graphite on Paper, 2006

Mike at MOMA, New York City, Graphite on Paper, 2006

Little Nova, Portland, OR, Pencil on Paper, 2012

Little Nova, Portland, OR, Pencil on Paper, 2012

Man in the Wildrenss with Ghosts, (Preliminary for Doc's Painting), Portland, OR, 2005

In the Wilderness with Ghosts (Preliminary for Doc’s Painting), Portland, OR, 2005

Thanks for reading!  <<<>>>  Feel free to comment!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 12 Responses to S K E T C H B O O K S – Part 2

  • These are so great. I bet you make/send good postcards. If you ever want to do a postcard project count me in for that.

  • jackbaumgartner says:

    That drawing of Mike at the Moma is spectacular. Man, I love how you draw!

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      Thanks, Jack! It was fun to look through these and find images to share. I’m excited about the drawings for next week. There’s a lot from Thailand that I hadn’t looked at (or really digested). I was admiring your grisaile again last night… Let’s catch up soon.

  • You are crazy talented. Sketchbooks are such a great way to go back in time, aren’t they?

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      Thanks, Shelli! They really are the best way for me to record events and times in my life. It’s strange how much I remember just from a drawing. Hope you are enjoying spring!

  • Liza Paizis says:

    I love this post so much ! ~It’s very insightful to look back at one’s sketchbooks as you say; they are almost like a diary of one’s life and for me, bring back immediate impressions of where I was at in my life…

    Thanks for sharing Mike – your drawings and sketches are so evocatively beautiful : )

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      Thanks for the comment, Liza! I agree that they are like visual diaries that can bring you right back. It’s a little bit of magic how much better I can remember events from seeing an old drawing rather than a written record. Do you ever post your old sketchbook work?

      Happy drawing to you!
      Mike

      • Liza Paizis says:

        hey Mike – I did a mini talk all about my sketchbooks once to a women’s art group, but never have posted this online…a thought though! Your blog is very inspiring – it is wonderful seeing creative people doing what they love : )

      • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

        Thanks, Liza! I appreciate the comment, and I appreciate seeing your work on your blog as well! Take care.

  • i love that postcard. whats on the other side?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading S K E T C H B O O K S – Part 2 at Mike Schultz Studio Blog.

meta

