Illustrations for Molly Drake Album – Part 1

March 17, 2013 § 16 Comments

Yes!  I am so happy to report that the Molly Drake album is finally available!

The Molly Drake album with an old photo made beautiful by my friend Sarah Wilmer.

The Molly Drake album with an old photo made beautiful by my friend Sarah Wilmer.

As many of you may know Molly Drake (1915-1993) was the mother of the late great songwriter Nick Drake (1948-1974). This past year Squirrel Thing Recordings remastered a collection of her beautiful songs and I had the great honor of making two illustrations for the inside album jacket.

Here are my two illustrations for the Molly Drake album-- a weaver bird in its nest and a teacup paired with a pretty poem written by Molly quite late in her life.

Here are my two illustrations for the Molly Drake album– a weaver bird in its nest and a teacup paired with a pretty poem written by Molly quite late in her life.

Drawing the teacup illustration for the inside of the Molly Drake album.  Sumi ink!

Drawing the teacup illustration for the inside of the Molly Drake album. Sumi ink!

Honestly, I’m not sure if I’ve ever worked on a project that was more near and dear to my heart as this one– Nick Drake’s music had a profound affect on me in my youth. If you don’t already know his songs do yourself a favor and find a copy of the album Pink Moon (1972). Here’s one of my favorite tracks from that album called From the Morning.

This newly released album of his mother’s music connects the dots and clearly shows where Nick Drake learned how to turn poetry into songs. As Nick’s producer Joe Boyd wrote Molly Drake is “the missing link in the Nick Drake story – there, in the piano chords, are the roots of Nick’s harmonies”.

Thank you to David Herman and Dan Dzula of Squirrel Thing Recordings in Brooklyn, NY for remastering this fantastic music! You can listen to and purchase Molly’s songs here. Please support this endeavor and buy the actual disc!

Feel free to comment– I like the dialog.  <<<>>>  Thanks for reading!  <<<>>>

Detail of the weaver bird illustration for the Molly Drake album at my drawing table.

Detail of the weaver bird illustration for the Molly Drake album at my drawing table.

The album booklet is complete with a biography written by Molly's daughter-- the actress Gabrielle Drake. Whose mysterious pair of paws are entering this scene?

The album booklet is complete with a biography written by Molly’s daughter– the actress Gabrielle Drake. Whose mysterious pair of paws are entering this scene?

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 16 Responses to Illustrations for Molly Drake Album – Part 1

  • Scritch says:

    very cool. congrats! i love that photo of her, its like a porcelain doll

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      Thanks, Janine! I feel lucky to have been a part of this– and I also thinks she looks like a porcelain doll in that photo. : ) She was so beautiful!

  • Liza Paizis says:

    I adore Nick Drake’s music, but never knew about his mother. Your illustrations are stunning, and I can imagine what a beautiful experience this must have been for you…I will check out the album!

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      I always felt like Nick Drake was an anomaly so when I first heard Molly’s songs it all made sense as to where he was coming from. I listened to her music nonstop while working on this project and all told it was a very enriching experiencing! Thanks for the kind comment, Liza.

  • oliverowl says:

    I love the drawing of the weaver bird! I’m not familiar with the Drake family, but I will be, as I plan to buy the album.

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      Thank you! I think that you specifically will love this album. It is just her beautiful voice, her great lyrics, and a piano. Let me know what you think when you hear it!

  • Oh! You must be honored. Those illustrations are lovingly crafted and lovely to behold.

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      Thanks Gabriel! I appreciate it. I’d like to write another post about this work with some of the preliminary drawings and mock ups I made for it soon. <<>>

  • I knew nothing about Nick Drake’s mom, but these illustrations are the entire design of the project are wonderful. Congrats.

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      Thank you, Elena! I appreciate the kind words… I had a great time working on this one. <<>>

  • Wow! VERY NICE WORK!!!! Congratulations! I didn’t know that Nick Drake’s mother was also a singer! I’m going to have to look her up now! Thanks!

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      Thanks, Shelli! She was a singer and a good one at that– you’ll have to let me know what you think about her songs. You can listen to them on the links above at bandcamp. Her song “Night is my friend” is a favorite right now. <<>>

  • That’s incredible work Mike. Absolutely precise and imaginative and a real marvel. How beautiful. What an addition to the music.

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      Thanks Steven– I appreciate the comment. It was a real gift to be able to work on this project. I’ve made artwork with Squirrel Thing Recordings before and they are always a pleasure to work with.

  • stephen singleton says:

    absolutely amazing work .. total respect to you and what you have done here . i love it .. oh my god , brilliant work . just brilliant .

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Illustrations for Molly Drake Album – Part 1 at Mike Schultz Studio Blog.

meta

