The Botanical Wedding of Sunflowers and Black Eyed Susans

February 25, 2013 § 18 Comments

Wedding Invitation with Sunflowers and Black-Eyed Susans, Digital, 2013
Wedding Invitation with Sunflowers and Black-Eyed Susans, Digital, 2013

Today I wanted to share with you a botanical illustration (in progress) for a wedding invitation featuring Black-eyed Susans and a sunflower– some of the local flora in upstate New York where my friends will be married later this summer.

Side note: Thanks to Wikipedia I learned that Rudbeckia hirta (Black-eyed Susan) has some other great names including Brown-eyed Susan, Brown Betty, Brown Daisy, Yellow Daisy, Gloriosa Daisy, Poorland Daisy, Yellow Ox-eye Daisy, and Golden Jerusalem.

Also, here is a 5th story view of the prettiest city I know during the gloomiest time of year. My daily bicycle commute has been gray and wet which I am ready to trade in for some Spring and sun. That said however– tulips are beginning to pop up out of the earth all over the city!

Thanks for reading and please feel free to comment.  <<<>>>

Beautiful Gloomy Portland, OR, February, 2013

 Beautiful Gloomy Portland, OR, February, 2013

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 18 Responses to The Botanical Wedding of Sunflowers and Black Eyed Susans

  • v neat floral. it looks like a vector – is it?

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      Thanks! No vector here, though maybe it should be? When I do this type of work I draw directly in photoshop (I’ve got a version of PS that I recently realized is a decade old so it’s probably time to update).

      • oh really? my process is opposite. draw in black on paper, scan and then convert the jpg to vector in illustrator. You get the same effect and its scalable. Give it a shot sometime. Quite handy. someone at work showed it to me. its good for quick stuff like this

      • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

        Interesting! We do in fact work exactly the opposite. Often I’ll make a mock-up sketch in photoshop, place a grid over it, and then manually redraw the image (via grid on real paper).

        Sounds like I need to get a good version of illustrator. I’d really like to give that I try. I was cursing how clunky some of the lines were when I was drawing this one this weekend when I realized my version of PS is ten years old!

        In Illustrator (after you scan and convert the jpg into vector) is it easy to isolate the lines and make them a separate layer from the background? If I could do that with my ink drawings it would be very helpful.

  • Liza Paizis says:

    I really love this design – it reminds me of work from the Arts & Crafts movement. The stamp in the corner is fabulous! Your friends must be so pleased…

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      Thank you for the kind comment, Liza. I love the Arts & Crafts movement and wish I had been a muralist or a tile painter or really any kind of craftsperson involved with it in its prime– especially the branch that occurred in sunny southern California. The work they made was just so joyful.

      Also, I don’t believe that the stamp / chop will be a part of the wedding invitation in the final version. : ) That’s a signature I have been playing with. Be well! <<>>

  • jackbaumgartner says:

    This is very nice, Mikey, is it going to be a linocut?

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      Thanks, buddy. Yes, I was actually thinking of making this one into a linocut. (Not for the wedding, but just for my own work.) <<>>

  • Very striking flowers! Really gorgeous moody photo of Portland! Me likey! What can you do with Pacific Northwest weather? You gotta embrace it, right?

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      Thanks, Shelli! As you are a recent transplant from a sunny place my heart goes out to you. : (

      After living in Thailand, this first full winter back in Portland has been rough! Also, after we last wrote about this I went out and bought more vitamin D. It works and I definitely recommend it. I would get a liquid daily D3 (at least 1000 IU per drop). This time of year it’s recommended to have at least 2-5 drops a day. That and yes, embrace the gloom!

  • The drawing is gorgeous. It definitely looks inspired by printmaking. My partner and I want to move to Portland, but meanwhile, we have the equally gloomy Minnesota gray to ‘enjoy’.

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      Thanks for the comment! This image was definitely inspired by my printmaking efforts and I believe I’ll eventually be making it into a linocut.

      Hopefully you and your partner can have jobs lined up when you move out here. It’s hard times for employment out this way. It’s not impossible, it’s just difficult to find a good job right now. <<>>

      • I’ve heard. We are tethered by our house for the time being, anyway. But it’d be great to visit again sometime. Last time we were there in the Spring. Maybe we’ll try a different season… Hmm.

  • Beautiful image and beautiful art work. And really enjoyable article to read about the flowers. Mike when you draw in photoshop do you draw with the mouse?

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      Thanks for the comment, Steven. Actually, I have a tablet designed to use with a pen tool so I can draw directly into photoshop (except that I am looking at the screen, not the taboet).

      Here’s a link to a photo that illustrates this. Thanks again!

  • LoCal Russian says:

    Dear Mike,
    Pathways Art Project, a blog that you have Liked on at least one occasion, is proud to announce you as one of the nominees for the Versatile Blogger Award. Please view the details of this nomination at http://pathwaysartproject.wordpress.com/2013/03/01/1663/.
    Sincerely,
    Pathways

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Botanical Wedding of Sunflowers and Black Eyed Susans at Mike Schultz Studio Blog.

meta

