Our Interview and Artwork in Korean Photography Magazine PHOTO+

November 11, 2012 § 8 Comments

August 2012 PHOTO+  –  Can you see the influence Super Mario Bros. had on us?

Recently a collaboration with my friend Sarah Wilmer was chosen to be the cover story in the Korean photography magazine Photo+. The publication was interviewing Sarah about her beautiful work and chose to focus their questions on a series she and I had made together– the theme of which was about the shift in technology after the Apocalypse.

Sarah graciously asked me to participate in the interview and we had a fun time reflecting on the series together. You can view Apocalypse as well as my preparatory drawings for it here.

Thanks for reading!  <<<>>>

We had no idea that discerning reader Tubs Wilmer knows Korean!

Sarah Wilmer and Mike Schultz, PHOTO+, 2012

Sarah Wilmer and Mike Schultz, PHOTO+, 2012

Sarah Wilmer and Mike Schultz – image from the Apocalypse Series, 2009

Sarah Wilmer and Mike Schultz – image from the Apocalypse Series, 2009

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 8 Responses to Our Interview and Artwork in Korean Photography Magazine PHOTO+

  • jackbaumgartner says:

    Excellent, Mike. I wish I could read Korean.

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      Haha, me too! My friends at work can read and speak Korean and are going to translate it for me. Also, have you ever called me Mike before, buddy? Sounds funny!

  • bill main says:

    WOW! Very emotive paintings in the series-your color palette and paint handling is spot on. That’s a great collaboration.

  • really liked this series. agree with bill main, the colour palette works really well

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      Thanks! I lived in Brooklyn, NY when we worked on this project so imagining the palette of a cityscape Apocalypse wasn’t too difficult. <<>>

  • It seems like this collaboration was a visual match made in heaven. I often think some sort of collaborative series would be good for artisitic growth, but I don’t know many people who are interested in my small circle of friends. Some day.

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      Thanks, Gabriel. I believe that collaborating can be tricky in that you need to find someone whose artistic temperament matches your own, but is still different enough from you that working together pushes you to make it work. Finding that middle ground is where I seem to learn the most. Sarah and I have worked on a few projects together and I love working with her because we see eye to eye on what we would both call finished.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Our Interview and Artwork in Korean Photography Magazine PHOTO+ at Mike Schultz Studio Blog.

meta

