Blue Moon Birthday + Drawings + A Sneak Peek!

September 13, 2012 § 11 Comments

For a person who loves the moon as much as I do, I am one lucky fellow. This year on August 31, 2012 my birthday fell on a blue moon. A blue moon is when there are two full moons in a single month. It is very rare and only occurs approximately every 2.5-3 years (or every 33 months) hence the phrase, “Once in a blue moon.”

Once in a blue moon – Out in the big city on my blue moon birthday, August 31, 2012.  <<<>>>

Because I am fortunate to have a birthday at the end of August, this will continue to occur throughout my life– the next time being August 31, 2023 and again on August 31, 2042. Lucky me!

Here are some recent sketchbook drawings.

Portrait of Arty Drawing a Portrait, Graphite on Paper, 5 x 8.25″, 2012

Wendy Napping, Graphite on Paper, 5 x 8.25″, 2012

Two Goats, Graphite on Paper, 5 x 8.25″, 2012

Skinny Dipping in Cayuga Lake, Graphite on Paper, 5 x 8.25″, 2012

This week I am headed down to the sunny, coastal forests of California for a two week printmaking expedition deep in redwood country.

While I am there I will be working with a fellow artist friend whose hand and skill I greatly admire. Pictured below is a sneak peek at a preliminary drawing for a linocut print of a lion which we will be working on. It features a duck. Can’t we all agree that ducks are strange and fantastic creatures? They fly. They hang out on the water. What more can you ask for?

Preliminary Drawing for Lion Print, Sumi ink and Gouache on Paper, 2012

I will be sure to post images of our progress as it happens… Thanks for reading!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 11 Responses to Blue Moon Birthday + Drawings + A Sneak Peek!

  • jackbaumgartner says:

    I am really looking forward to what you guy’s will make. As always I love seeing the sketchbook drawings.

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      Thanks, buddy. By the way, I am happy to deliver your message to Don and am deliberating on the approach. We will be thinking about you and your work while we are at it down there. Hope you are well.

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      I thought if you commented you might mention ducks… Also, I think we can rustle up some of what we produce for you down south.

      • jackbaumgartner says:

        Yes, well, I am a big fan of the soggy classes of fowl. We have four ducklings in with our most recent hatch of chicks. Mrs. Black Duck got lonely when the coyote ate her husband and neighbors.

  • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

    Damn thee, wily coyote, damn thee… I am glad you got more ducklings and look forward to meeting them. I suppose coyotes have mouths to feed too, but c’mon.

  • Dorte says:

    Mike, as far as I know, ducks stand for emotions when talking in terms of totem animals. They cross paths with people during times of deep emotional endeavors. As agreed, one day I will tell you my thoughts about that lion and now i promise duck tales too.

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      Hi Dorte, thank you for the comment. I love learning about all things concerning animal symbolism and spirituality! I’m looking forward to hearing your thoughts on lions and ducks.

      I had an epiphany this summer about ducks- which basically was that I love them profoundly and think they are incredible creatures. :) <<>>

  • Mike, I think you would appreciate the work of Michael Leunig who has a profound admiration of ducks. Ducks often appear in his cartoons.

  • Thank you for stopping by, gave me a good reason to marvel at you fantastic art! Love the dreamy expression and I truly admire your force of creativity!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Blue Moon Birthday + Drawings + A Sneak Peek! at Mike Schultz Studio Blog.

meta

