Brooklyn, New York – Travel Journal Drawings

September 3, 2012 § 2 Comments

Drawing of the Painter Jacob Cartwright and a Young Japanese Tourist on the Train, 2012

I just returned to Portland, OR from New York where I traveled and drew to my heart’s content. During a final stop in The Big Gritty I indulged again in my favorite pastimes– sketching friends and people on the subway and drawing beautiful artifacts at The Metropolitan Museum of Art. Pictured below, a drawing of the real life Game of Thrones…

Drawing of Gilded Italian Helmet (circa 1500), Graphite on Paper, 5 x 8.25″, 2012

Drawing gorgeous Arts and Crafts Movement pottery at the Met.

Taking photos of a book poses problems in getting uniform light and focus. So, I am experimenting– these drawings were photographed in the evening with dramatic sunset light.

Drawing of a vase by Susan S.G. Frackelton (1900), Graphite on Paper, 5 x 8.25″, 2012

Sometimes we get lucky… I am good friends with Sarah Wilmer, a photographer with a luminous body of work— and last week she was doing a shoot in the 5th Ave apartment of the deceased actress Joan Crawford. My pal Cristina and I were able to stop by the shoot for a visit and enjoy some spectacular views of Central Park– we also saw a private art collection which you could not see anywhere else. Yes, that is a Fernand Léger just chillin’ on the wall behind Cristina. Ridiculous!

Cristina with a Fernand Léger in Joan Crawford’s apartment in Manhattan.

Sarah Wilmer at work photographing the ghost of Joan Crawford through a mirror, with assistance from globe trotting Casanova, “JB Smooth”.

While drawing in the Met I had my musical hero Moondog playing in my headphones. I drew to favorites like “I’m This, I’m That” and the ever tranquil “Pastoral”, a song that he played on a triangular shaped harp of his own design. Ahhh, the Viking of 6th Avenue. I love me some Moondog!

Steph’s Dog, Benja, Graphite on Paper, 5 x 8.25″, 2012

The Angel Gabriel, Terracotta, Masseo Civitali, (1493), Graphite on Paper, 5 x 8.25″, 2012

Drawing of The Angel Gabriel (Detail), Graphite on Paper, 5 x 8.25″, 2012

Thanks for reading!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Brooklyn, New York – Travel Journal Drawings

  • jackbaumgartner says:

    That smudge of a reflection below the Frackelton vase is super.

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      Thanks, Jack. I always appreciate your support and comments on my blog. I thought that the vase drawing was ok, but man was the real thing gorgeous. Just an incredible little time capsule from the Arts and Crafts era with a perfect shape and glazing…

      Actually, I thought of you when drawing the St. Francis statue. I drew it until they kicked me out of the Met. I had my headphones in and “couldn’t hear” that they were closing. heh heh…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Brooklyn, New York – Travel Journal Drawings at Mike Schultz Studio Blog.

meta

