Ithaca, New York – Travel Sketchbook Drawings

August 27, 2012 § 16 Comments

Cayuga Lake, Ithaca, New York

For me this trip has had the scope and feeling of an epic homecoming. The last time I was back in Ithaca was three years ago when I still lived in Brooklyn, NY. Since then I moved back to Portland, OR, and then spent 15 months working on the Thai-Burma border. Being back here this time around Ithaca seems even slower and more beautiful and peaceful then I ever remember.

Cayuga Lake with Sailboat, Graphite on Paper, 5 x 8.25″, 2012

I have nearly filled my Moleskine sketchbook with drawings of loved ones, local flora and fauna, and lake sunsets and skyscapes.

A still life drawing lesson for some friends’ daughter.

Paper Dragon with Ceramic Owl and Cat, Sumi Ink on Paper, 11 x 14″, 2012

My days here have been spent with friends and family cooking, singing songs, babysitting my niece, swimming in the lake, riding bikes through rolling country side, and lots and lots of drawing- feels like a real summer at home!

Jessica and Nia, Graphite on Paper, 5 x 8.25″, 2012

Tomorrow it’s back to New York City for more museums and fun for my birthday. Here are a few more images from my trip so far– enjoy and thanks for reading!

In Process- Jewelweed aka Touch-Me-Not, Graphite on Paper, 5 x 8.25″, 2012

Sailboat on Cayuga Lake with Ducks, Graphite on Paper, 5 x 8.25″, 2012

Sunflower, Graphite on Paper, 5 x 8.25″, 2012

Jewelweed and Cayuga Lake, Graphite on Paper, 5 x 8.25″, 2012 (Held by my niece!)

Swimming in a Gorge at a Waterfall in Ithaca, Graphite on Paper, 5 x 8.25″, 2012

Moon over a spring fed country pond. *sigh* Til’ next we meet again, Ithaca.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 16 Responses to Ithaca, New York – Travel Sketchbook Drawings

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Ithaca, New York – Travel Sketchbook Drawings at Mike Schultz Studio Blog.

meta

