Drawing a Portrait of Arty

July 30, 2012 § 4 Comments

This week I wanted to share a drawing I made of my friend Arty. He’s a painter whose ceaseless need to draw is wholly infectious. (Read as- He’s really fun to be around because I love to draw too!)

Detail of Portrait of Arty.

Arty sat for me earlier this week after a bike ride down the river and entertained our house cat while I drew him. You can see some of his work here on his tumbler. I am getting really into making these dark and loose graphite drawings and then cleaning them up around the edges with sparse amounts of white gouache in the end. I made another of a friend today that I will post soon.

Thanks for reading!

Portrait of Arty, Graphite and Gouache on Paper, 11 x 14″, 2012

Detail of a blue and trustworthy tool… the Double E– the workhorse of pencils.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Drawing a Portrait of Arty

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Drawing a Portrait of Arty at Mike Schultz Studio Blog.

meta

