Lions and Books

May 21, 2012 § 7 Comments

Today I wanted to say Happy Birthday to my lovely grandmother, Marylin! She is a great influence in my life as a writer and a thinker and a human being.

It’s been a good week getting settled into my new studio space. I’ve been reading, sketching, and planning out several larger projects to be done in the coming months.  One such artwork is a commissioned painting of a lion in meditation called, The Lion and the Baumgartner (Baumgartner is a German name meaning Tree Garden).

Pictured below are some preliminary drawings of this painting in progress.

Blue Lion Study (Detail), Color Pencil, 11 x 14”, 2012

Studies on my studio wall with a small pair of shears.

Thumbnail Drawings for The Lion and the Baumgartner, Graphite on Paper, 11 x 14″, 2012

For balance this morning in the studio I took a break from drawing and finished reading Cormac McCarthy’s All the Pretty Horses.  It was great read — beautiful and dark.  His rich descriptions of a mid 20th century Mexico are vivid and easily pictured.

Thank you for reading!  To see more of my artwork, please visit MikeSchultzPaintings.com.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to Lions and Books

  • jackbaumgartner says:

    I really am enjoying the turtle with all of the plants on his back, the owl peaking out of the hole and the bird drawings all around. You are walking with Villard de Honnecourt. I would love to see more of these drawing pages on your blog.

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      Thanks, Jack. That turtle may be a linocut soon. I have other drawings of him that I’ll share. Also, I can definitely post more of my sketchbook pages on here.

      Villard is a giant and a favorite.

  • Marylin says:

    Thank you for the Birthday wish, and expecially the phone call! I agree with Jack regarding your sketches. So glad you have a good studio space. Just read an article on writers’ needing a place with “no distractions.” Conducive to creativity.

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      Thank you for your words! I’ll be sure to post more sketches soon. I also believe in order to dig deep an artist/writer needs quiet and focus. :)

  • Hi Mike, I see lions feature in a range of your work. I have been admiring the Narrative Paintings where there are lions, of course, lounging around with Daniel.

    My favourite Narrative Paintings are ‘Wolf Spirit’ and ‘Meditation on Transpermia’. I enjoyed the colours you used as well as the richness of detail. I found myself wondering about the mirror at the base of the tree stump which reflected the wander’s image.

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      Thank you for the kind and thoughtful comments, Margaret. Ever since I was commissioned to paint two works including lions they have become a favorite subject of mine.

      I am not entirely sure why I originally added the mirror in the Wolf Spirit painting– sometimes meaning comes as an after thought. Making art can be a slow process of revealing for me and that was a spontaneous addition that came out of the blue. What was strange is that with that addition the entire painting, and the space within the painting, completely opened up visually.

      • oliverowl says:

        My dearest Mike, thank you for sorwarding this to my email. It brought the recall of your gracious Birthday wishes to me! You and I share an understanding of “reflection” that is most spiritual, and I think that addition to the lion painting was a spontaneous inspiration.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Lions and Books at Mike Schultz Studio Blog.

meta

