A Portrait of My Great Grandfather Enoch Schultz

April 16, 2012 § Leave a comment

Mike Schultz, Portrait of Enoch Schultz, Oil on Canvas, 2007

This is a portrait of my great grandfather, Enoch Schultz.  I painted it a few years back from an old photograph that was taken by my great grandmother, Caroline.  She took a lot of photographs, and whenever I work from one of them it feels like a serendipitous collaboration with the past.

One thing that I’ve always really liked about the original photo is that it is clear that Enoch has no problem holding the weight of eight large Canadian geese over his shotgun.  I’ve been a vegetarian since I was a teenager, and there is something about this photograph that makes me feel comically wimpy.

To see more of my artwork, please visit MikeSchultzPaintings.com.

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Portrait of My Great Grandfather Enoch Schultz at Mike Schultz Studio Blog.

meta

