Morning Hunt – A Portrait of My Father

April 9, 2012 § 4 Comments

This is a portrait of my pop and his three dogs, set in the badlands of North Dakota.  The work was painted in 2010, but was several years in the planning and execution.

Mike Schultz, Morning Hunt, Oil on Wood Panel, 4 x 5', 2010

His dogs are German Shorthaired Pointers, and all three have very distinct personalities.  I wanted to be able to capture the character of each dog, from stoic to happy-go-lucky.  Pictured below, are some photographs from the process.

Morning Hunt, in process in my studio with afternoon light.

Morning Hunt, in process in my studio with blue evening light.

My dad on the morning of the photo shoot, looking dapper in his hunting outfit.

The finished painting in my studio, in Portland, Oregon, 2010.

My good friend Jack Baumgartner constructed what could only be described as an epic frame for this artwork.  The painting itself measures four by five feet, so the wooden frame is quite large.  It’s made entirely of walnut, and features accents of beautifully carved pheasants, as well as a carving of my dad’s full name.

To see the frame, you can visit Jack’s website here.  Pictured below, is one of the pheasants that Jack carved on the frame.

Jack Baumgartner, Carved Pheasant (Detail of a Walnut Frame), 2010-2011

I have yet to see the painting and the frame unified, but when I do, I will be sure to post a picture of it.  Thanks for reading!

To see more of my artwork, please visit MikeSchultzPaintings.com.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Morning Hunt – A Portrait of My Father

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Morning Hunt – A Portrait of My Father at Mike Schultz Studio Blog.

meta

