Burma Drawings

February 19, 2012 § 6 Comments

Earlier this week, I shipped out three drawings for a show in Richmond, Virginia.  I made these works while living in Mae Sot, Thailand, on the Thai-Burma border.  They are part of a larger series, a meditation on the on-going humanitarian crisis in Burma.

Burma and the Witness’ Dilemma, Ink on Paper, 9 x 12", 2011

As an NGO worker, I felt a wide range of emotional responses to what I witnessed abroad: empathy, joy, sorrow, guilt over my own privilege, and sometimes an empty, callous feeling, all depending on the situation.  My internal response to any given circumstance seemed to morph over time.

Burma as a Tree, Ink on Paper, 9 x 12", 2011

All three works were made with washes of Japanese sumi ink on paper.  This last image, seen below, was in celebration of the SuperMoon that occurred on March 19, 2011. A SuperMoon, coined by astrologer Richard Nolle in 1979, appears quite large in the sky. “In short, Earth, Moon and Sun are all in a line, with Moon in its nearest approach to Earth.” That night, the moon looked bright and enormous over Mae Sot.

SuperMoon, Ink on Paper, 9 x 12", 2011

To see more of my artwork, please visit MikeSchultzPaintings.com.

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Burma Drawings

  • jackbaumgartner says:

    Thank you for sharing these. I am trying to remember if I’d seen the” witness’ dilemma” before. I really like this drawing. The emerging values in the snake and such “atmospheric” effects throughout the drawing are handled very well, and with great efficiency. I also appreciate the honesty you have expressed here.

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      Thanks, Jack. I don’t think I shared this drawing with anyone before I posted it. Honesty can be a rickety tightrope, so I’m glad to hear that you like it.

  • Jerry Graves says:

    Quite a body of work Mr. Shultz. Some really fabulous stuff!

  • Hi Mike. Thanks for taking the time to visit my blog today and click on the “Like” button to my most recent post. Your drawings are very interesting and creative. Keep up the good work! I hope to hear from you again soon. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Burma Drawings at Mike Schultz Studio Blog.

meta

