Bygone Works

January 21, 2012 § 2 Comments

After going though my digital archives, I wanted to share four quiet landscapes, painted in 2007-2008.

Mount St. Helens Erupting, Oil on Wood, 6 x 8", 2004-2007

In March of 2005, Mount St. Helens had another in a series of minor eruptions.  At the time, I lived in the hills overlooking Portland, Oregon, and had a great view of St. Helens from my studio window.  One evening, the plume looked like a bizarre, cartoonish tube, floating above the mountain.  That visual inspired this artwork.

Moonlight on Cayuga Lake, Oil on Panel, 5 x 7, 2007

This painting began as a plein air study from a dock on Cayuga Lake, during one summer in Ithaca, New York.  Later, I finished it in my studio as a night painting. For me, this work has always held an odd quality that I like.  Perhaps it is the light pollution on the clouds?

Stars Over Cedar Mountain, Oil on Panel, 5 x 7", 2007

Stars Over Cedar Mountain was painted after visiting my grandmother, who now lives in Cody, Wyoming. On her property, there is a small log cabin sauna next to a babbling brook.  When one takes a break in the middle of a sauna to cool off, this is the view of Cedar Mountain from the hillside.   The air there is dry and clear and smells like sage brush.

Lawrence of Arabia, Oil on Panel, 5 x 7, 2008

This last work was inspired by one of my favorite scenes from the 1962 film epic, Lawrence of Arabia.

To see more of my artwork, please visit MikeSchultzPaintings.com.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Bygone Works

  • I am an author looking for cover art for my latest novel. I’m interested in Stars Over Cedar Mountain and wonder if you still have it, or a large high quality photo of it. If so, might we discuss it’s possible use. Best – Baxter

    • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

      Hi Baxter,

      Thank you asking after the painting. While it is not in my studio it is still in my family with my grandmother in Cody, WY and could easily be shipped to be better documented with a higher resolution appropriate for print.

      If you would like to commission an illustration I would also be interested in painting another variation of the same work to fit the specific dimensions of a book cover.

      You can contact me directly at mikeschultzpaintings@gmail.com if you would like to discuss it further.

      Thanks again,
      Mike

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bygone Works at Mike Schultz Studio Blog.

meta

