Goodbye Blue Monday, for Kurt Vonnegut

January 13, 2012 § 3 Comments

Mike Schultz, Goodbye Blue Monday, for Kurt Vonnegut, Oil on Panel, 5 x 7", 2007

In the spring of 2007, I made this portrait of Kurt Vonnegut, Jr. in the days following his death.  Vonnegut’s book, Slaughterhouse-Five (1969), influenced my personal philosophy, and remains one of my favorite novels of all time.

Saddened by his death, I wanted to honor him with a painting.  So, I made an imagined portrait of a young Kurt Vonnegut looking out over a bleak, war torn Dresden, Germany.  In real life, Vonnegut had been captured by the Germans and locked inside of an underground meat locker called slaughterhouse-five, and so then serendipitously survived the fire bombing of Dresden by American forces in February of 1945.

Earlier this week, I came across this painting while going through my digital archives.  Five years has passed since I made it, and although my visual aesthetic has shifted, I believe that as an image, it holds up.  I know that if I made it now it would be a very different painting, but for me, that is the reason why revisiting one’s work from the past can be so interesting.

To see more of my artwork, please visit MikeSchultzPaintings.com.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Goodbye Blue Monday, for Kurt Vonnegut

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Goodbye Blue Monday, for Kurt Vonnegut at Mike Schultz Studio Blog.

meta

