Retrospect 2011

January 4, 2012 § 2 Comments

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In 2011, I made hundreds of drawings, paintings, and designs while living in Mae Sot, Thailand.  Many of these works served different purposes.  Some were made for a job or were part of the process of making a commissioned piece. Other images were personal notes, sketches, or were part of a larger body of work.  I’d like to share a small selection of images, from various points in the year, to celebrate the end of 2011 and the beginning of 2012.

Dream Drawing, Bear Attack, Graphite on Paper, 11 x14", 2011

When I have vivid and significant dreams, I like to record them with a drawing.

Sistine Sunrise, Watercolor and Gouache on Paper, 5 x 9″, 2011

This western landscape contains the basic composition from a section of the Sistine Chapel.  I always enjoy working hidden secrets into my artwork.

Sketchbook Drawing of Mae Salong, Thailand, Graphite on Paper, 7 x 8″, 2011

I made this drawing from our balcony, overlooking a valley in my favorite place in Thailand. Doi Mae Salong is a small Chinese founded town located high in the mountains.

Ceramic Box in Process, Clay, 2011

Memory Drawing, Barefoot Burmese Child Collecting Bottles, Mae Sot, Graphite on Paper, 8 x 10″, 2011

Memory drawings are quick sketches that are drawn after the fact, to help me remember visuals that I would see every day.

Design for Ceramic Sacajawea Tile, Digital, 2011

While working with the Puzzlebox Art Studio in Mae Sot, Thailand, I made over 70 designs for sculpted ceramic tiles.  The finished tiles are being highlighted in themed rooms in a guesthouse being built by the Puzzlebox Studio’s parent NGO, Youth Connect.  For the themed room called the “Map Room”, I wanted to honor a personal hero of mine, Sacajawea. This is the preliminary design for that tile.

Preliminary Drawing for Radio Lino-Cut, Ink and Gouache on Paper, 5 x 7″, 2011

When I was young, I would fall asleep to the crackle of my bedside radio playing AM Talk, love line call-in shows and oldies stations that played music from the 1930’s-1950’s.  This is a design for a lino cut I would like to make of the 1970’s hand me down radio that I had.  While I do not want to romanticize the past, as I cherish the extraordinary, unparallelled importance of the Internet, it does seem like it was a simpler time.

Preliminary Drawing for Hare and Stump House, Graphite on Paper, 9 x 12″, 2011

This is a sketch for an ink drawing.

Joseph Tile in Sculpting Process, Clay, 6 x 6″, 2011

In 2011, I made several ceramic works based on themes from my paintings. This is one such tile in process.  I found the carving and sculpting aspect of working with clay to be wonderful and very much like drawing in the third dimension.

Cobras and Poppies in Burma, Sumi Ink on Paper, 11 x 14″, 2011

This image is one of a body of work I made as a meditation on the current, ongoing humanitarian crisis in Burma.

Memory Drawing, The Soldiers’ and Sailors’ Memorial Archway in Brooklyn, Graphite on Paper, 5 x 7″, 2011

While teaching Foundations Drawing at the Puzzlebox Art Studio, I had my apprentices make a memory drawing of a specific moment and place from their lives in Burma.  I asked them to draw themselves into the image, and have the viewer looking over their shoulder at the memory with them.  After seeing how much they enjoyed the process of this exercise, I was moved (read as: I was jealous) to make one for myself.  I chose to remember a moment of my life in front of my favorite visual in New York City, the fantastic archway at the head of Prospect Park in Brooklyn.

Painting Glaze on Heart Tiles, 2011

To see more of my artwork, please visit MikeSchultzPaintings.com.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Retrospect 2011

  • I love the slide show of your work, so many different styles present. My favourite is the drawing for the Hare and Stump house, and the tile of the anatomically correct heart. Lovely stuff!

  • Mike Schultz Paintings says:

    Thank you! I’ve found that by allowing myself to freely shift styles and medium, It helps keep my work fresh, as a whole.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Retrospect 2011 at Mike Schultz Studio Blog.

meta

